Mirror Finish Polishing ~ 1-816-529-6089 ~ sales@mirrorfinishpolishing.com ~ mirrorfinishpolishing.com For the best rate on home, auto, life or business/commercial insurance call me at 888-959-0955, cell 636-734-1310 or bricehazelwood@weiss-ins.com. Never Done Garage - donewhenimdead.com Peerless Automotive Reconditioning - 1155 W. Dennis Ave, Olathe Ks, 66061 - 913-893-1201 Mark H. Epstein ~ The Epstein Law Firm, LLC ~ 913-396-5123 Wilkes Automotive ~ wilkesautomotive.com ~ 246 Marion St, Olathe, KS 66061 ~ 913-254-7171 Skandalous Inc ~ www.skandalousinc.com DIY Auto Repair Inc ~ www.diyautorepairkc.com ~ 11509 Strangline Rd, Olathe KS 66062 ~ 913-226-3806 Your advertisement here! The Law Offices of Jeremiah Johnson, LLC ~ 104 E. Poplar, Olathe, KS 66061 ~ (913)764-5010 ~ www.kcatty.com - www.johnsoncountydui.com ~ jeremiah@kcatty.com Santa Fe Body, Inc ~ 8717 Lenexa Drive, Overland Park, KS 66214 ~ (913) 894-6090 House of Boost LLC Nude? HouseofHID.com - The #1 source for HID The Print Shop KC 816.200.6694 or Ryan@RMD-Photography.com the art of tyleR ~ http://tyleR.bigcartel.com ~ TYLERcoey.com ~ MUTTtoy.com ~ MUTTtoy@gmail.com W-K Chevrolet Buick Pontiac Cadillac GMC ~ 3310 W. Broadway, Sedalia, MO 65301 ~ 800-382-5088 ~ Cell 660-553-8928 ~ dustin@wkchevy.com ~ www.wkchevy.com

Go Back   KCSR - THE Kansas City Forum > General Forums > Home Improvement & Do-It-Yourself

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 2017-02-15, 08:51 AM   #76
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

I forgot to update this thread with me adding a Skybell HD into the mix over the holidays. It was super easy to wire up to my existing doorbell and it integrated into SmartThings with ease. I am very impressed with both it's motion sensitivity as well as the video and audio quality.
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-03-22, 05:34 AM   #77
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Added an Amazon Echo into the mix a few weeks back. I've become spoiled to asking her to turn lights off and set the mode of the home.

Also added contact sensors to my exterior doors. I went with sensors from Lowes. They're slim and come in at only $22 a piece. This adds security features to the SmartThings setup. Each sensor reports open/close as well as temperature. I plan on adding more later.

Additionally I've added an AccuRite 5 in 1 Personal Weather Station into my setup. While it only reports the weather at my home (temp, wind, wind direction, rain, and pressure) I can use it to build other automations.

Finally today I have a 2nd gen Rachio Irrigation Controller coming. I pulled the trigger since it will be receiving SmartThings certification any day now.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-03-24, 11:10 AM   #78
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Really impressed with the Rachio so far. Was cake to install, as it took me about 30min.i did the advanced setup going as far as measuring the square footage of each zone.

Now I have to get a shell script u and running on my Linux box to pull my PWS data from Weather Underground to another website so that the Rachio will base its weather data from exact conditions and forecast in my yard. Should have that up and running later today or this weekend.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-03-24, 04:44 PM   #79
freekwonder
Guinness Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In the rain
Posts: 35,649
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 43
Thanks (Received): 110
Likes (Given): 666
Likes (Received): 784
Dislikes (Given): 8
Dislikes (Received): 16
Default

Nice. I'm pretty happy with my first gen Rachio, glad they fixed the few things I didn't like about it.
__________________
"The Americans on this Island are not ordinary troops, but Marines, a special force recruited from jails and insane asylums for blood lust."
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people."
"I'm a citizen, this is my President. And in this country it is not only permissible to question our leaders it's our responsibility! "
freekwonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-03-25, 05:54 PM   #80
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Got the cron job up and running that pulls the data my PWS sends to WeatherUndergound and sends it to PWSWeather.com where Rachio can talk to.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-03-25, 06:03 PM   #81
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddyLee View Post
Added an Amazon Echo into the mix a few weeks back. I've become spoiled to asking her to turn lights off and set the mode of the home.
Same here for Google Home. At first it was great when you had the hands full or were wandering around in the dark but now its basically a lazy thing. I can turn on multiple lights at once as I am entering a room, too easy.
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-06-21, 08:19 PM   #82
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

Finally got myself a harmony hub. My entertainment stuff is too old to be controlled via smartthings otherwise. Despite the shortcomings of IR (which I have mostly been able to tune around) its pretty damned useful, especially once you get it paired with smartthings. Starting a "watch movies" activity turns off all of the lights save for one it dims to 10% and lowers the AC two degrees.
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-06-22, 09:37 AM   #83
ReidStylez
Yahh Trick Yahh!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: JW's Neighbor
Posts: 27,251
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 100
Likes (Given): 43
Likes (Received): 947
Dislikes (Given): 11
Dislikes (Received): 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddyLee View Post
Added an Amazon Echo into the mix a few weeks back. I've become spoiled to asking her to turn lights off and set the mode of the home.

Also added contact sensors to my exterior doors. I went with sensors from Lowes. They're slim and come in at only $22 a piece. This adds security features to the SmartThings setup. Each sensor reports open/close as well as temperature. I plan on adding more later.

Additionally I've added an AccuRite 5 in 1 Personal Weather Station into my setup. While it only reports the weather at my home (temp, wind, wind direction, rain, and pressure) I can use it to build other automations.

Finally today I have a 2nd gen Rachio Irrigation Controller coming. I pulled the trigger since it will be receiving SmartThings certification any day now.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
I love my Echo and Echo Dot paired with my ST Hub. I wish it could open doors too. When carrying things down the to my basement I can tell Echo to turn on my basement lights so I don't have to find my way in the dark. I know that's super lazy but it's still nice.

I want to add an Accurite sometime in the future, just added the video door bell. Going to have it turn on a light or two when it senses motion after sunset while on vacation.
__________________
2016 Ford Explorer EcoBoost
2011 Toyota Tacoma DCLB SR5
ReidStylez is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-06-22, 09:39 AM   #84
ReidStylez
Yahh Trick Yahh!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: JW's Neighbor
Posts: 27,251
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 9
Thanks (Received): 100
Likes (Given): 43
Likes (Received): 947
Dislikes (Given): 11
Dislikes (Received): 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Stewart View Post
Same here for Google Home. At first it was great when you had the hands full or were wandering around in the dark but now its basically a lazy thing. I can turn on multiple lights at once as I am entering a room, too easy.
My brother in law came into town two nights ago and we were on the couch watching a movie. It was super easy, video door bell sensed motion, we saw it was him, we told echo to unlock the front door and turn on entry light.
__________________
2016 Ford Explorer EcoBoost
2011 Toyota Tacoma DCLB SR5
ReidStylez is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-06-22, 10:44 AM   #85
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

Im such an idiot that I spent 15 minutes in ST creating virtual switches/scenes and another 15 in IFTTT custom phrases.

As I am walking down the stairs I go, "Ok Google, let there be light!" and the entire first floor lights up on max. A kind of "pick me up" on my way to making my morning smoothie. Saying good night on the way up the stairs turns off any downstairs lights left on (my coworker wants me to set this up at his house because his kids leave all kinds of shit on).

My parents dismissed it as lazy when I demonstrated it over chat but once they experienced it in use they want me to do it to their house. And I havent even got into using prox sensors or anything, just voice prompts and scenes.
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-06-22, 10:49 AM   #86
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Stewart View Post
Im such an idiot that I spent 15 minutes in ST creating virtual switches/scenes and another 15 in IFTTT custom phrases.

As I am walking down the stairs I go, "Ok Google, let there be light!" and the entire first floor lights up on max. A kind of "pick me up" on my way to making my morning smoothie. Saying good night on the way up the stairs turns off any downstairs lights left on (my coworker wants me to set this up at his house because his kids leave all kinds of shit on).

My parents dismissed it as lazy when I demonstrated it over chat but once they experienced it in use they want me to do it to their house. And I havent even got into using prox sensors or anything, just voice prompts and scenes.
Now being able to say a custom phrase to get an event to happen would be badass.

As of currently I am reduced to, "Alexa, turn on Master Bedroom".
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-06-23, 07:08 AM   #87
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddyLee View Post
Now being able to say a custom phrase to get an event to happen would be badass.

As of currently I am reduced to, "Alexa, turn on Master Bedroom".
Doesnt Echo work with IFTTT?

I mean Google just added shortcuts (aka custom phrases) but I was doing most of it through IFTTT before that. I still use IFTTT for custom phrases for ST devices because you can customize the response.

"Google, let there be light!"
"Yes Sir you giant dicked god!"

I didnt really have her say that, but with IFTTT you can.

Yeah, just looked:
https://ifttt.com/amazon_alexa

Get on that shit.
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-06-23, 07:13 AM   #88
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

One thing I learned about the Harmony integration is its not a "one shot" deal. So I have my "watch TV" activity to turn on the TV, sound bar, and tune to whatever channel I told it to. Additionally I have it to set my living room lights to 20% but ONLY after sunset.

Last night I started watching TV before sunset but its been really dark and rainy so I manually turned on the light but had already started the activity. Well low and behold at 8:53 (our official sunset) the light dimmed to 30%. So the scenes/activities you set in Harmony are ongoing, continuously evaluating criteria.

Not sure if i consider it a good thing or a bad thing but its a thing.
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2017-06-23, 08:47 AM   #89
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Stewart View Post
Doesnt Echo work with IFTTT?

I mean Google just added shortcuts (aka custom phrases) but I was doing most of it through IFTTT before that. I still use IFTTT for custom phrases for ST devices because you can customize the response.

"Google, let there be light!"
"Yes Sir you giant dicked god!"

I didnt really have her say that, but with IFTTT you can.

Yeah, just looked:
https://ifttt.com/amazon_alexa

Get on that shit.
Ok I didn't kow I could do custom phrases via IFTTT and Echo. Fucking A.
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-08, 03:27 PM   #90
phreakdna
 
phreakdna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Leawood
Posts: 6,894
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 163
Thanks (Received): 118
Likes (Given): 403
Likes (Received): 637
Dislikes (Given): 8
Dislikes (Received): 36
Default

my technophobia of installing a listening device in my house has finally subsided to the point that I'm going in on a ST hub with motion sensor & two multipurpose sensors plus a water leak sensor (free), ecobee with two room sensors, and an Alexa my company gave me for xmas...

basically, I'm subscribing to reread this thread and learn.
any thoughts you might have on someone that's just getting setup (that aren't already posted in the thread I haven't read) would be appreciated.
__________________
Our progress in degeneracy appears to me to be pretty rapid. As a nation, we began by declaring that ”all men are created equal.” We now practically read it “all men are created equal, except negroes” When the Know-Nothings get control, it will read “all men are created equal, except negroes, and foreigners, and Catholics.” When it comes to this I should prefer emigrating to some country where they make no pretence of loving liberty -- to Russia, for instance, where despotism can be taken pure, and without the base alloy of hypocricy. - Lincoln
phreakdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-10, 10:23 AM   #91
shaun y
Mr 49er
 
shaun y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: الكافر المشرف
Posts: 15,787
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 164
Thanks (Received): 142
Likes (Given): 3421
Likes (Received): 1009
Dislikes (Given): 187
Dislikes (Received): 144
Default

Im sure this is old news, but I installed a Nest thermostat a couple months ago and am in love. So nice to be able to keep my house colder during the day but turn the heat on when I start to head home after work so it's not still 57 degrees when I get home.

We went to Florida over Christmas, we left the house at 45° and it was below zero outside the day we were coming home, so it was super convenient to be able to raise the temp from a thousand miles away so that we got home to a toasty house but didn't have to waste gas and electricity that whole week. Our bills have definitely been better, and our electric utility gave us a $100 credit for installing it.
__________________
shaun y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-12, 11:05 AM   #92
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

Yeah the nest was my first thing and doing that saved me about $8 a month so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddyLee View Post
Ok I didn't kow I could do custom phrases via IFTTT and Echo. Fucking A.
I also learned you can stack phrases to do scenes/strings. So you can have a single phrase do 3 completely different things just by building it 3 times.

Over my birthday I came back to KC and setup my parents house, they are already asking me to come back and add more switches.
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-12, 02:42 PM   #93
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

I've just been adding light switches lately. My basement is now tied into automation as well as some of my exterior lighting. I have some landscape lighting I'm going to add once it gets warmer.

https://www.osram.com/ds/ecat/LIGHTI...t/ZMP_1157489/
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-12, 02:47 PM   #94
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Stewart View Post
Yeah the nest was my first thing and doing that saved me about $8 a month so far.



I also learned you can stack phrases to do scenes/strings. So you can have a single phrase do 3 completely different things just by building it 3 times.

Over my birthday I came back to KC and setup my parents house, they are already asking me to come back and add more switches.
I just don't like how I have to say "Trigger" before any of the IFTTT phrases. It takes some of the fun out of it.
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-12, 03:50 PM   #95
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddyLee View Post
I just don't like how I have to say "Trigger" before any of the IFTTT phrases. It takes some of the fun out of it.
What? Why are you saying "trigger?" Are you using something besides Google Assistant? Because I just say whatever the IFTTT phrase is. It even seems to override other applications phrases, like it gets priority. I setup IFTTT phrases that appear to supersede even Googles own stuff (its how I have setup custom groupings for lights and whatnot).

I just say, "ok google, turn off the first floor" and it triggers all 3 of my phrases that are setup in IFTTT to go when you say "turn off the first floor." Each instance in IFTTT is tied to a room, so 3 rooms. Its how I Have been able to control 3 rooms with one phrase. And "Good Night" even goes further to turn off the downstairs TV if its on (so built 4 "good night" activities in IFTTT). That one is using Harmony.

I did get a Sony Bravia this weekend and the Assistant works well through its remote but I probably wont use it. What I would rather see is more control over Android TV using the Homes. The nice thing though is it uses the IP link to Harmony instead of IR so a much more reliable interface. Plex runs pretty well on it too.

__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike

Last edited by Ryan Stewart; 2018-02-12 at 03:56 PM..
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-12, 03:52 PM   #96
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Stewart View Post
What? Why are you saying "trigger?" Are you using something besides Google Assistant? Because I just say whatever the IFTTT phrase is. It even seems to override other applications phrases, like it gets priority. I setup IFTTT phrases that appear to supersede even Googles own stuff (its how I have setup custom groupings for lights and whatnot).
I'm doing it through Amazon Echo. I will have to try it without the "Trigger" command.
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-12, 03:57 PM   #97
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

Oh I dont know Echo other than what I setup with my parents stuff but they havent gotten to the point of doing advanced stuff with it.
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-12, 04:00 PM   #98
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

Also, to expand on the bravia and android TV. I switched to Youtube TV and just internet and no longer game. So ditched the media cabinet. I just have the TV/sound bar on the wall and the wireless sub, nothing else. Whats in that picture is 100% of whats in the living room. The server is in the media closet.

Makes room for a chaise (my 20 year old self didnt know what that was).
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-12, 04:25 PM   #99
BuddyLee
 
BuddyLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 28,815
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 24
Thanks (Received): 259
Likes (Given): 61
Likes (Received): 1954
Dislikes (Given): 4
Dislikes (Received): 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Stewart View Post
What? Why are you saying "trigger?" Are you using something besides Google Assistant? Because I just say whatever the IFTTT phrase is. It even seems to override other applications phrases, like it gets priority. I setup IFTTT phrases that appear to supersede even Googles own stuff (its how I have setup custom groupings for lights and whatnot).

I just say, "ok google, turn off the first floor" and it triggers all 3 of my phrases that are setup in IFTTT to go when you say "turn off the first floor." Each instance in IFTTT is tied to a room, so 3 rooms. Its how I Have been able to control 3 rooms with one phrase. And "Good Night" even goes further to turn off the downstairs TV if its on (so built 4 "good night" activities in IFTTT). That one is using Harmony.

I did get a Sony Bravia this weekend and the Assistant works well through its remote but I probably wont use it. What I would rather see is more control over Android TV using the Homes. The nice thing though is it uses the IP link to Harmony instead of IR so a much more reliable interface. Plex runs pretty well on it too.

So with the Echo, it has direct ST integration. So I can tell it to turn on/off/dim <insert device name> or <insert room name>. I can also tell it to perform <insert ST scene> and it will run that macro. So if I built a Scene into ST that had a goofy name that should work. If I run something out of IFTTT (for instance ST supports locking a door by voice but not unlocking), I have to say, "Trigger" <insert IFTTT command>.
__________________
XBL: Buddyl33
PSN: KC_Buddyl33

BuddyLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2018-02-13, 10:01 AM   #100
Ryan Stewart
Mr. Plow
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 37,941
Post Thanks / Like
Default

That sucks. The ST integration with Googles is the same but they dont make you do any special "trigger" phrase for IFTTT.

I wonder if you an do like I did with Harmony. I guess Google has "native" applications and "services." Harmony is a service so technically I should be telling it, "OK Google, tell harmony to turn on the TV" but Google Home supports shortcuts so I created on that takes "turn on the TV" and adds in the tell harmony bit. I had to build shortcuts for all of the things I do with the TV (volume, favorite channels, etc) but once I did that I got pretty flexible commands.

Could you do that in Alexa? Tell it "Make my living room a rave" = "Trigger make my living room a rave"
__________________
Fast as fuck_________________________Your mom thinks its cool______________Old man bike
Ryan Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.13.37
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright (c) 1993-2012, KCSR.org