Mirror Finish Polishing ~ 1-816-529-6089 ~ sales@mirrorfinishpolishing.com ~ mirrorfinishpolishing.com For the best rate on home, auto, life or business/commercial insurance call me at 888-959-0955, cell 636-734-1310 or bricehazelwood@weiss-ins.com. Never Done Garage - donewhenimdead.com Peerless Automotive Reconditioning - 1155 W. Dennis Ave, Olathe Ks, 66061 - 913-893-1201 Mark H. Epstein ~ The Epstein Law Firm, LLC ~ 913-396-5123 Wilkes Automotive ~ wilkesautomotive.com ~ 246 Marion St, Olathe, KS 66061 ~ 913-254-7171 Skandalous Inc ~ www.skandalousinc.com DIY Auto Repair Inc ~ www.diyautorepairkc.com ~ 11509 Strangline Rd, Olathe KS 66062 ~ 913-226-3806 Your advertisement here! The Law Offices of Jeremiah Johnson, LLC ~ 104 E. Poplar, Olathe, KS 66061 ~ (913)764-5010 ~ www.kcatty.com - www.johnsoncountydui.com ~ jeremiah@kcatty.com Santa Fe Body, Inc ~ 8717 Lenexa Drive, Overland Park, KS 66214 ~ (913) 894-6090 House of Boost LLC Nude? HouseofHID.com - The #1 source for HID The Print Shop KC 816.200.6694 or Ryan@RMD-Photography.com the art of tyleR ~ http://tyleR.bigcartel.com ~ TYLERcoey.com ~ MUTTtoy.com ~ MUTTtoy@gmail.com W-K Chevrolet Buick Pontiac Cadillac GMC ~ 3310 W. Broadway, Sedalia, MO 65301 ~ 800-382-5088 ~ Cell 660-553-8928 ~ dustin@wkchevy.com ~ www.wkchevy.com

Go Back   KCSR - THE Kansas City Forum > General Forums > Best of KCSR

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 2009-06-04, 10:38 AM   #101
kellyrx8
Super Moderator
 
kellyrx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 14,381
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 30
Thanks (Received): 101
Likes (Given): 704
Likes (Received): 455
Dislikes (Given): 7
Dislikes (Received): 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOWLCUT View Post
I got the Xigmatek 650W in there and it seems like it's doing better. I don't think I've had any blinks anymore. New 3Dmark06 score: 15552.

ahhhh seeeee dosent it feel good to have stable power
kellyrx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-04, 10:18 PM   #102
BOWLCUT
 
BOWLCUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,025
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 64
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellyrx8 View Post
ahhhh seeeee dosent it feel good to have stable power

Haha for sure.

BTW, I had my CPU overclocked to 4.23 on that test.

Im beginning to think it's the card again. I got the new PSU in there and it's still blinking. I don't know what the hell else it could be but it's really frustrating.
__________________
2014 KTM 500 EXC | Motard'd | Cush drive | Euro map'd
2005 KTM 450 EXC | Ex-motard

BOWLCUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-04, 10:19 PM   #103
kellyrx8
Super Moderator
 
kellyrx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 14,381
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 30
Thanks (Received): 101
Likes (Given): 704
Likes (Received): 455
Dislikes (Given): 7
Dislikes (Received): 3
Default

what do you mean its blinking??? like the screen flickers or flashes???
kellyrx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-04, 10:26 PM   #104
BOWLCUT
 
BOWLCUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,025
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 64
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellyrx8 View Post
what do you mean its blinking??? like the screen flickers or flashes???
Yeah.

And I know it's not the monitor because I've tried it on 2 different ones.
__________________
2014 KTM 500 EXC | Motard'd | Cush drive | Euro map'd
2005 KTM 450 EXC | Ex-motard

BOWLCUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-05, 08:14 PM   #105
notarealjeep
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Olathe
Posts: 2,913
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default



Just got my 4870X2 installed wait tell i get XP on this bad boy!
notarealjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-07, 10:17 PM   #106
notarealjeep
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Olathe
Posts: 2,913
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default



i just noticed that it says my cpu is at 4GHz in the 3dmark site and 4.2GHz on CPU-Z that's weird cause throttling was disabled

Last edited by notarealjeep; 2009-06-08 at 08:31 AM..
notarealjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-08, 05:31 PM   #107
hoostie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,386
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 2
Likes (Given): 1
Likes (Received): 7
Dislikes (Given): 1
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default

not bad scores. I wonder if you can use one of your old gtx's for physx. Dont know if its possible. Never looked into it. Then you could get you some vantage scores.
hoostie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-08, 06:55 PM   #108
BOWLCUT
 
BOWLCUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,025
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 64
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 5
Default

I never thought I'd see the day when Nick went ATi... He always made fun of my ATi card... You 1 upper, you.
__________________
2014 KTM 500 EXC | Motard'd | Cush drive | Euro map'd
2005 KTM 450 EXC | Ex-motard

BOWLCUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-09, 01:41 PM   #109
BOWLCUT
 
BOWLCUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,025
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 64
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 5
Default

So yeah. Vista Ultimate x86...



With my new GTX260.
__________________
2014 KTM 500 EXC | Motard'd | Cush drive | Euro map'd
2005 KTM 450 EXC | Ex-motard

BOWLCUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-25, 11:54 PM   #110
notarealjeep
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Olathe
Posts: 2,913
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default

and again even with throttling off it says my CPU is slower in 3dmark06? but the right speed in CPU-z?!?!!??? Oh. well.. yeah yeah 3dmark06 it CPU dependent i know i know!
UPDATED!

Last edited by notarealjeep; 2009-06-26 at 02:00 AM..
notarealjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-26, 02:08 AM   #111
kellyrx8
Super Moderator
 
kellyrx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 14,381
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 30
Thanks (Received): 101
Likes (Given): 704
Likes (Received): 455
Dislikes (Given): 7
Dislikes (Received): 3
Default

why are you still using 06?

I still dont get why people are posting 06 scores...please use vantage...
kellyrx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-26, 10:03 PM   #112
notarealjeep
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Olathe
Posts: 2,913
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 0
Thanks (Received): 0
Likes (Given): 0
Likes (Received): 4
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellyrx8 View Post
why are you still using 06?

I still dont get why people are posting 06 scores...please use vantage...

Will do. by the way wanna by my C0 i7 cheap?
notarealjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-27, 03:11 AM   #113
silver5liter
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: parkville
Posts: 17,859
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 24
Likes (Given): 80
Likes (Received): 147
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by notarealjeep View Post
Will do. by the way wanna by my C0 i7 cheap?
How much? pm me
__________________

1991 Mustang GT
silver5liter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-29, 05:14 AM   #114
silver5liter
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: parkville
Posts: 17,859
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 24
Likes (Given): 80
Likes (Received): 147
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 11
Default

Anyone have any advise on how to get my friend's 3dmark scores up? Computer is freshly built, q6600, 2 gtx 260's, 8gb ddr3-1600 ram and can still only manage a little over 12k on 3dmark. It is not over clocked at all and runs every game on full setting perfect. Wouldnt you think it would be able to muster better than a 12k?
__________________

1991 Mustang GT
silver5liter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-29, 07:14 AM   #115
BOWLCUT
 
BOWLCUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,025
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 4
Thanks (Received): 7
Likes (Given): 28
Likes (Received): 64
Dislikes (Given): 0
Dislikes (Received): 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver5liter View Post
Anyone have any advise on how to get my friend's 3dmark scores up? Computer is freshly built, q6600, 2 gtx 260's, 8gb ddr3-1600 ram and can still only manage a little over 12k on 3dmark. It is not over clocked at all and runs every game on full setting perfect. Wouldnt you think it would be able to muster better than a 12k?
Something is definitely not right.
__________________
2014 KTM 500 EXC | Motard'd | Cush drive | Euro map'd
2005 KTM 450 EXC | Ex-motard

BOWLCUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-29, 07:28 AM   #116
Scooby24
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Olathe
Posts: 51,922
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 50
Thanks (Received): 700
Likes (Given): 362
Likes (Received): 4008
Dislikes (Given): 27
Dislikes (Received): 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOWLCUT View Post
Something is definitely not right.
The q6600 is only a mild performer at stock speeds and my dual 8800gts's were also 12k on stock settings. At stock speeds, the q6600 is a bottleneck.

Another reason why we're telling you all to ditch 3dmark06. CPU dependent, not gaming realistic. If they were to run vantage with a q6600 at stock speeds, you'd see scores more in line with the computer's gaming abilities.

Going off the current scores, you might think his rig would be worse at gaming than an i7 with only one 260 scoring around 18k but you'd be mistaken.
__________________
-Greg
'18 Forester XT Touring

Last edited by Scooby24; 2009-06-29 at 09:33 AM..
Scooby24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-29, 04:46 PM   #117
silver5liter
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: parkville
Posts: 17,859
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 24
Likes (Given): 80
Likes (Received): 147
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 11
Default

hmm, what would you recommend as some stable overclocked settings?
__________________

1991 Mustang GT
silver5liter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-29, 05:23 PM   #118
Scooby24
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Olathe
Posts: 51,922
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 50
Thanks (Received): 700
Likes (Given): 362
Likes (Received): 4008
Dislikes (Given): 27
Dislikes (Received): 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver5liter View Post
hmm, what would you recommend as some stable overclocked settings?

3.0 is usually easy as pie. Keep multiplier at 9. Set FSB to 1333 and set the CPU voltage to manual and run the VID listed in CoreTemp.

Example: In coretemp, my VID is listed at 1.2250 V. Set CPU voltage to 1.2250, FSB to 1333 and be done.

I had rock solid 24/7 stability and my scores bumped up very nicely. I run it daily and rarely overclock more than that anymore.
__________________
-Greg
'18 Forester XT Touring
Scooby24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-30, 01:50 AM   #119
silver5liter
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: parkville
Posts: 17,859
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 24
Likes (Given): 80
Likes (Received): 147
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby24 View Post
3.0 is usually easy as pie. Keep multiplier at 9. Set FSB to 1333 and set the CPU voltage to manual and run the VID listed in CoreTemp.

Example: In coretemp, my VID is listed at 1.2250 V. Set CPU voltage to 1.2250, FSB to 1333 and be done.

I had rock solid 24/7 stability and my scores bumped up very nicely. I run it daily and rarely overclock more than that anymore.
Thanks, ended up getting it to 3.0ghz and got a 15525 on 3dmark06. Still low, but it was nice to see an improvement lol
__________________

1991 Mustang GT
silver5liter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-30, 06:06 AM   #120
kellyrx8
Super Moderator
 
kellyrx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 14,381
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 30
Thanks (Received): 101
Likes (Given): 704
Likes (Received): 455
Dislikes (Given): 7
Dislikes (Received): 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver5liter View Post
Thanks, ended up getting it to 3.0ghz and got a 15525 on 3dmark06. Still low, but it was nice to see an improvement lol
What cooler do you have on it? stock?
kellyrx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-30, 02:16 PM   #121
silver5liter
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: parkville
Posts: 17,859
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 24
Likes (Given): 80
Likes (Received): 147
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellyrx8 View Post
What cooler do you have on it? stock?
ocz vendetta 2 with crossbow
__________________

1991 Mustang GT
silver5liter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-30, 05:08 PM   #122
kellyrx8
Super Moderator
 
kellyrx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 14,381
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 30
Thanks (Received): 101
Likes (Given): 704
Likes (Received): 455
Dislikes (Given): 7
Dislikes (Received): 3
Default

oh right on....that should handle 3.6 if im correct...

you should be able to hit 3.2 easy with that cooler...
kellyrx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-30, 09:45 PM   #123
silver5liter
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: parkville
Posts: 17,859
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 24
Likes (Given): 80
Likes (Received): 147
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellyrx8 View Post
oh right on....that should handle 3.6 if im correct...

you should be able to hit 3.2 easy with that cooler...
Im new to the whole overclocking thing. Its completely new to me. Any tips on hitting 3.6?
__________________

1991 Mustang GT
silver5liter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-30, 10:32 PM   #124
kellyrx8
Super Moderator
 
kellyrx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 14,381
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 30
Thanks (Received): 101
Likes (Given): 704
Likes (Received): 455
Dislikes (Given): 7
Dislikes (Received): 3
Default

what motherboard do you have? i may have missed it if you posted it..
kellyrx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2009-06-30, 10:49 PM   #125
silver5liter
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: parkville
Posts: 17,859
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 11
Thanks (Received): 24
Likes (Given): 80
Likes (Received): 147
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellyrx8 View Post
what motherboard do you have? i may have missed it if you posted it..

I may have completely forgot to post it. Its a evga 790i FTW
__________________

1991 Mustang GT
silver5liter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.13.37
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright (c) 1993-2012, KCSR.org