Mirror Finish Polishing ~ 1-816-529-6089 ~ sales@mirrorfinishpolishing.com ~ mirrorfinishpolishing.com For the best rate on home, auto, life or business/commercial insurance call me at 888-959-0955, cell 636-734-1310 or bricehazelwood@weiss-ins.com. Never Done Garage - donewhenimdead.com Peerless Automotive Reconditioning - 1155 W. Dennis Ave, Olathe Ks, 66061 - 913-893-1201 Mark H. Epstein ~ The Epstein Law Firm, LLC ~ 913-396-5123 Wilkes Automotive ~ wilkesautomotive.com ~ 246 Marion St, Olathe, KS 66061 ~ 913-254-7171 Skandalous Inc ~ www.skandalousinc.com DIY Auto Repair Inc ~ www.diyautorepairkc.com ~ 11509 Strangline Rd, Olathe KS 66062 ~ 913-226-3806 Your advertisement here! The Law Offices of Jeremiah Johnson, LLC ~ 104 E. Poplar, Olathe, KS 66061 ~ (913)764-5010 ~ www.kcatty.com - www.johnsoncountydui.com ~ jeremiah@kcatty.com Santa Fe Body, Inc ~ 8717 Lenexa Drive, Overland Park, KS 66214 ~ (913) 894-6090 House of Boost LLC Nude? HouseofHID.com - The #1 source for HID The Print Shop KC 816.200.6694 or Ryan@RMD-Photography.com the art of tyleR ~ http://tyleR.bigcartel.com ~ TYLERcoey.com ~ MUTTtoy.com ~ MUTTtoy@gmail.com W-K Chevrolet Buick Pontiac Cadillac GMC ~ 3310 W. Broadway, Sedalia, MO 65301 ~ 800-382-5088 ~ Cell 660-553-8928 ~ dustin@wkchevy.com ~ www.wkchevy.com

Go Back   KCSR - THE Kansas City Forum > Automotive Forums > General Auto Tech

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 2012-06-25, 03:57 PM   #1
bladesz42
 
bladesz42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,252
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 31
Thanks (Received): 8
Likes (Given): 154
Likes (Received): 35
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 56
Default ecotech problems

so I'm needing help figuring out if there is a difference between the 07 g5 ecotech crank position sensor and the 05 cavalier ecotech crank position sensor. the g5 is a 3 pin and the cavalier is a 2. is there a reason why they are different? trying to get this motor to fire, it is getting crank, spark, but no fuel. we were thinking it was the ecu but now we are thinking it is the ckp sensor.

any help would be grateful
bladesz42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-06-25, 04:16 PM   #2
snm95ls
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42,783
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 400
Thanks (Received): 349
Likes (Given): 3588
Likes (Received): 2058
Dislikes (Given): 64
Dislikes (Received): 56
Default

Just a guess, but the 3 wire is most likely a Hall Effect, whereas the 2 wire is a VRS.

Neither will even remotely work in place of the other.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Leonard McCoy
I know engineers. They love to change things.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Clarkson
...Because I live on a balanced diet, I have a balanced mind, and as a result I know that animals are like people. Some are for looking at. Some are for loving. Some are for riding. And some need to be shot because they’re a bloody nuisance.
snm95ls is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-06-25, 06:05 PM   #3
bladesz42
 
bladesz42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,252
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 31
Thanks (Received): 8
Likes (Given): 154
Likes (Received): 35
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 56
Default

So there is not a way to make that engine work instead of the 05 cavalier motor?
bladesz42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-06-25, 06:08 PM   #4
snm95ls
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42,783
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 400
Thanks (Received): 349
Likes (Given): 3588
Likes (Received): 2058
Dislikes (Given): 64
Dislikes (Received): 56
Default

Wat?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Leonard McCoy
I know engineers. They love to change things.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Clarkson
...Because I live on a balanced diet, I have a balanced mind, and as a result I know that animals are like people. Some are for looking at. Some are for loving. Some are for riding. And some need to be shot because they’re a bloody nuisance.
snm95ls is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-06-25, 06:20 PM   #5
bladesz42
 
bladesz42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,252
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 31
Thanks (Received): 8
Likes (Given): 154
Likes (Received): 35
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 56
Default

So is it possible to get the g5 motor to work in the cavalier is what im asking.
bladesz42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-06-25, 06:31 PM   #6
snm95ls
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42,783
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 400
Thanks (Received): 349
Likes (Given): 3588
Likes (Received): 2058
Dislikes (Given): 64
Dislikes (Received): 56
Default

Probably?

You initially asked about the crank sensors, not the engines. Is there some odd reason why you can't swap crank sensors around?

EDIT: I guess I should have stated that neither will work in place of the other ELECTRICALLY.

Dunno if the trigger wheel is the same or not. I would imagine that it is though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Leonard McCoy
I know engineers. They love to change things.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Clarkson
...Because I live on a balanced diet, I have a balanced mind, and as a result I know that animals are like people. Some are for looking at. Some are for loving. Some are for riding. And some need to be shot because they’re a bloody nuisance.
snm95ls is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-06-25, 06:34 PM   #7
bladesz42
 
bladesz42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,252
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 31
Thanks (Received): 8
Likes (Given): 154
Likes (Received): 35
Dislikes (Given): 18
Dislikes (Received): 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snm95ls View Post
Probably?

You initially asked about the crank sensors, not the engines. Is there some odd reason why you can't swap crank sensors around?

EDIT: I guess I should have stated that neither will work in place of the other ELECTRICALLY.

Dunno if the trigger wheel is the same or not. I would imagine that it is though.
Ok thanks for your input
bladesz42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 2012-06-25, 09:50 PM   #8
bryanwheat
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Columbia
Posts: 4,335
Post Thanks / Like
Thanks (Given): 1
Thanks (Received): 30
Likes (Given): 14
Likes (Received): 122
Dislikes (Given): 8
Dislikes (Received): 12
Default

You need a multimeter to test these components before just assuming that something is wrong with it.
bryanwheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.13.37
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright (c) 1993-2012, KCSR.org